T is for Theatre

A place for the weary of mind and soul to go.

A place constructed by a dutiful servant as a refuge for the misfits of the world.

A theatre is the most lively place anyone has ever been to energy amped up to 11, people becoming others and all that is spread around is the love of life and everything around. The smell of dust burning under the lights that I put in place all that time ago. This is where I belong – balanced on the edge of light and dark. Making myself whole from the pieces of all the things that happen within. This place is mine, made by my hands, held up by others. I’ve done it all here – on and off the stage. I’ve lived in the light and the dark and I can say that I love them both. I endeavoured all my life to make a place where everyone fit in, and that is what I made, not without help, of course. Time catches up to us all in the end so it seems the torch must be passed, it seems that my time as patron and master has finally run its course.  I can truly say that this is the one thing that I have been a part of that I am proud of making this place what it is. My greatest joy. And so to all others who have been a part along the way, Thank you, you are as much a part of this as I. Everyone wants to go out in a bang but I always liked to just go when no one was looking, it makes it easier. This was the last time that this place would truly ever be mine and so I stood at the helm like a proud captain observing his ship, all alone  with nothing but my thoughts to keep me  company and  there and then the only vow I ever made was fulfilled.

Et theatrum præparatur habitatio animi confugerunt ad animam meam.
(Theatre is the palace of the mind and the refuge of the soul.)